We Are Millennial Culture

Nasty C, Tiwa Savage, Oxlade, Diamond Platnumz, OTHERS to release music inspired by ‘Coming 2 America’

A new set of songs by African artists inspired by upcoming American comedy film ‘Coming 2 America’ will be released on March 5, 2021.

The likes of Diamond Platnumz, Nasty C. Fally Ipupa, Anatii, Oxlade, Tekno and Tiwa Savage are featured on ‘Rhythms of Zamunda‘ powered by Def Jam Recordings in conjunction with Def Jam Africa.

ICYMI: WATCH: Fireboy DML makes U.S. late-night TV debut

The 16-track compilation was curated by Sipho Dlamini, the Chief Executive Officer of Universal Music South Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa.

The project will be released on the same day as Coming 2 America Original Motion Picture Soundtrack and Coming 2 America which premieres exclusively on Amazon Prime Video in 240 countries and territories.

‘Black and White,’ the first single of the project, is a collaboration between South African rapper Nasty C and American singer and songwriter, Ari lennox.

“It was important for Def Jam Africa to be involved because the first film was so legendary to Africans in the diaspora,” says Dlamini. “The film franchise is tongue-in-cheek but conveys a rich quality of life in Africa. That is reflected in the music on Rhythms of Zamunda. We wanted to represent some of the sounds that are relevant, impactful and current on the continent.”

The pan-African project traces a “musical roadmap through Western, Eastern, and South African soundscapes and introduces this synergy to listeners worldwide,” according to a statement.

Full list of tracks below.

1.       Black And White – Nasty C & Ari Lennox
2.       Owo Ni Koko – Larry Gaaga & Umu Obiligbo
3.       Magnet – Locko
4.       Skeletun – Tekno
5.       Overdue – Tellaman Feat. Sha Sha & Oxlade
6.       Jiggy Bop – Alpha P & TMXO
7.       Dosabado – DJ Arafat
8.       Fetch Your Life – Prince Kaybee Feat. Msaki
9.       Dangerous Love – Tiwa Savage (DJ Ganyani Amapiano Radio Edit Remix)
10.   Moya Omubi – Th&o.
11.   Hallelujah – Diamond Platnumz Feat. Morgan Heritage
12.   Ye Mama – Toofan Feat. Fally Ipupa
13.   Ain’t It True – Bonj
14.   Loke Loke – Gemini Major Feat. ANATII
15.   Shesha – De Mthuda & Njelic
16.   Everything – Ricky Tyler

4 thoughts on “Nasty C, Tiwa Savage, Oxlade, Diamond Platnumz, OTHERS to release music inspired by ‘Coming 2 America’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: