We Are Millennial Culture

Kwesi Arthur, Tiwa Savage, Nasty C, Burna Boy, Master KG, Others snag 2021 MTV Africa Music Awards nominations

The first batch of nominations for the 2021 MTV Africa Music Awards has been unveiled.

The seventh edition of the awards will feature performances by some of the biggest names on the continent, and around the world.

It will be held on February 20, 2021 in Kampala, Uganda, and is in partnership with Uganda’s Ministry of Tourism.

“These nominees represent some of the very best talent the continent has to offer,” remarked Monde Twala, Senior Vice President and General Manager, ViacomCBS Networks Africa.

“The MAMA is a great showcase and opportunity for African music along with youth culture to shine on the global stage. Congratulations to all the nominees who continue to push the boundaries of creativity and authenticity. We are proud of your contribution to the continent’s music industry in taking Africa to the world. It’s a celebration not to be missed.”

It will be broadcast live on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) and MTV Africa (DStv Channel 130.)

First batch of nominations below.

Best Female

  • Simi (Nigeria)
  • Sheebah (Uganda)
  • Sho Madjozi (South Africa)
  • Busiswa (South Africa)
  • Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
  • Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)
  • Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Male

  • Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  • Innoss’B (DRC)
  • Kabza De Small (South Africa)
  • Harmonize (Tanzania)
  • Fireboy DML (Nigeria)
  • Master KG (South Africa)
  • Rema (Nigeria)

 Best Group

  • Blaq Diamond (South Africa)
  • Sauti Sol (Kenya)
  • Kabza De Small/DJ Maphorisa (South Africa)
  • Calema (São Tomé and Príncipe)
  • Ethic (Kenya)
  • Rostam (Tanzania)

 Artist of the Year

  • Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  • Calema (São Tomé and Príncipe)
  • Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
  • Master KG (South Africa)
  • Davido (Nigeria)
  • Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
  • Wizkid (Nigeria)

 Best Breakthrough Act

  • Elaine (South Africa)
  • Tems  (Nigeria)
  • Omah Lay (Nigeria)
  • Zuchu (Tanzania)
  • John Blaq (Uganda)
  • Sha Sha (Zimbabwe)
  • Focalistic (South Africa)

 Best Hip Hop 

  • Nasty C (South Africa)
  • Suspect 95 (Cote d’Ivoire)
  • Khaligraph Jones (Kenya)
  • Kwesi Arthur (Ghana)
  • NGA (Angola)
  • OMG (Senegal)

 Best Ugandan Act

  • Sheebah
  • Bebe Cool
  • John Blaq
  • Vinka
  • Daddy Andre
  • Spice Diana

 Best Lusophone Act

  • Calema (São Tomé and Príncipe)
  • Preto Show (Angola)
  • Anna Joyce (Angola)
  • Mr Bow (Mozambique)
  • Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
  • Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)

Best Francophone Act

  • Innoss’B (DRC)
  • Suspect 95 (Cote d’Ivoire)
  • Dip Doundou Guiss (Senegal)
  • Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
  • Fally Ipupa (DRC)
  • Gaz Mawete (DRC)

Alone Together: Best Lockdown Performance

  • Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania) – Africa Day Benefit Concert
  • Black Motion (South Africa) – Red Bull Rendezvous
  • Niniola ft Busiswa (Nigeria/SA) – Africa Day Benefit Concert
  • Singuila (Congo) – DCDR Series
  • AKA (South Africa) – AKA TV
  • Yemi Alade (Nigeria) – Poverty (live session)

7 thoughts on “Kwesi Arthur, Tiwa Savage, Nasty C, Burna Boy, Master KG, Others snag 2021 MTV Africa Music Awards nominations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: